Countdown…

This is the only thing for 29 I could find...see how it's forgotten lol

I think its amusing how society only puts emphasis on certain birthdays, 16, 21, 30, 40, 50…those ages stick out as major milestones in this thing called life, but why? Why not celebrate 22 with the same vigor and enthusiam as 21? If you ask me, its culpable. In 29 days, I will be 29 years old. The age 29 is often overshadowed by the ever alluring presence of 30 lurking around the corner. But 30’s eve is exciting to me, and I welcome it with open arms.  I’ve been telling my friends since I was 26, “Look, I’m almost 30”, but now, its really true. I’m thankful for every second, moment, month and year that I am alive, and if you know me, you know that I don’t take birthdays lightly. Time has flown since my 28th birthday, when all I wanted was to get back a sense of normalcy. Now that I feel like a brand new Shelley, it’s time to celebrate!

In anticipation of year 29, I have concocted a list of 29 things I would like to accomplish in 29 days. Everyday is a new opportunity to do something different, learn something new, and help someone else. During Chapter 28, my goal was rebirth. In year 29, I plan to shine 🙂 I’m not putting any pressure on myself to complete them all by no means; just giving myself some added motivation…let the games begin!!!!!!

29 in 29 for 29

  1. Go swimming
  2.  go hiking at Great Falls
  3.  take a jewelry making class
  4. do 10 cartwheels in a row
  5. take a Qi-gong class
  6. read Wuthering Heights
  7. go see an artist/live band I’ve never heard live
  8. choose pics for my wall art
  9. Finish Mad Men Season 4
  10. measure windows for blinds
  11. clean out my office
  12. make a homemade carrot cake
  13. hit my goal weight of 145
  14. take ballet or tap class
  15. carve a pumpkin
  16. buy a matching bra/panty set
  17. make or bring lunch to a chemo patient
  18. hang my living room curtains
  19. volunteer
  20. design my 1st too cute tee
  21. visit a museum I’ve never been to (Newseum??)
  22. get a massage & facial
  23. get dolled up and go to dinner at a new restaurant
  24. rent a bike and ride thru DC
  25. complete a new vision board
  26. give away clothes to Goodwill
  27. take socasize class
  28. learn the French alphabet and numbers 1-20
  29. make a new recipe and invite Moms, Pops, Kells and Reg for dinner 🙂

Well folks, that’s my 29 in 29 for 29. Encourage me, cheer me on, and think of some things you want to do to celebrate yourself as well. Let’s gooooooo!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

