Chapter 28- The Rebirth

On the day that you were born
The angels got together
And decided to create a dream come true
So they sprinkled moon dust in your hair
And starlight in your eyes like they do”

-“Close to You” Tamia & Gerald Levert version

I like to imagine my birth was a whimsical moment in the life of my parents. My Dad told me I was born on a Wednesday, and it was unseasonably warm in DC for that time of year, about 63 degrees according to the online almanac (you can find ANYTHING thru google). My mother had just finished watching her favorite soap opera, General Hospital, and at 4:05pm, Shelley Renee’ was on the scene.

Fresh out the womb...with the smooth waves! HA!

Last Wednesday, I woke up to pouring rain and cloudy skies. But just like 28 years ago, it was in the 60’s outside. Another unseasonably warm day. Ironic I thought to myself.  This birthday for obvious reasons means alot to me. It feels like a culmination of a new year, after so many challenges. It feels like a rebirth in a sense. My hair has grown in about an inch, and every time I see my Mom she reminds me that my hair looks the same way as the day I was born. That makes me smile, because in a sense I feel like a baby starting from scratch. I’m finally getting back to the point where I feel like my old self again, and I want to leave behind all the disappointments and hardships of the year and just celebrate being alive and well. But after some deep thought, I realized I don’t want to be the old Shelley, I want to be better than I ever have before.

I have decided that chapter 28 of my life will be themed “The Year of Fearlessness”. I have let fear hold me back in more ways than one, and I want it out of my life for good. I’m going to do things I’ve never done, have been afraid to do, and those that I have been putting off for way too long. It’s time to step outside of my comfort zone and experience life outside the box. Maybe I will jump out of a plane, or compete in a triathlon, or go streaking! LOL, you get my drift. I’m just ready to start the process of becoming the woman I always envisioned myself being.

FIERCEEEE!!

One of my favorite quotes is from the designer and fashion icon Diane Von Furstenburg. Other than the fact that she is 60 plus and gorgeous, and a fellow December baby (the coolest people on the planet *wink*), her story is amazing, and it proves that no matter what age you are, where you are from, and what you have been through, it’s never too late to pursue a dream. At the age of 40, after marrying into a wealthy family, but not having a career or life path, she decided to do something. She stated  “I didn’t know what I wanted to do, but I always knew the woman I wanted to be”. I heard that line and I could not agree more. I do not know exactly what I want to do, but I do know that I desire to be a phenomenal woman. And that means being fearless, taping into my purpose, and putting in the work to obtain the level of greatness that I desire.

So here I go, embarking on a journey to become the Shelley God has designed and called me to be. I’m excited and thankful to have another year to make that happen. I pray the next year of my life brings about positive change, undeniable favor, and more frolicking than I can stand!!! 🙂

28 is gonna be GREAT!!

Jeremiah 1:5 (The Message)

 5“Before I shaped you in the womb,
   I knew all about you.
Before you saw the light of day,
   I had holy plans for you:
A prophet to the nations—
   that’s what I had in mind for you.”

 

7 thoughts on “Chapter 28- The Rebirth

  1. Thank you so much for sharing Shelley! Your words are truly inspiring! God is definitely using your life as a testimony for others! Love you! 🙂

  2. You SO ROCK! Beautiful inside and out, with long hair, short hair, and I’m sure with no hair too. If skydiving is on your list, I heard of a company that will video record the jump too. Oh…and I wanna go with you:) Smooches!

  3. Sunflower!! WOW…These similar thoughts have been so heavy on my heart lately!! Such a powerful and insightful read……Keep’em coming!!

  4. I love this Shells! this year will absolutely be greater than the last or any other for that matter. I’ve always seen greatness in you honey. I’m never a fan of folks who are just seen out there, but not producing much of anything. Please by all means listen closely to what God is telling you and I promise he will give you every resource you need to execute His plan with excellence. Trust me I know! 🙂 I can’t wait to see it! XOXO

  5. This was an awesome read and Im glad I waited. As you can see its already the New Year but it was right on time *wink.

    Thank you for opening your diary and pouring out your heart for all of us to see and embark on this journey with you. I’ve always told you you’re an inspiration.

    This quote “I didn’t know what I wanted to do, but I always knew the woman I wanted to be” is not only powerful but embracing.

    Love you doll! All smiles 🙂

Leave a Reply

