I wanna thank you, Heavenly Father…

Though you may not drive a great big Cadillac
Gangsta whitewalls
TV antennas in the back
You may not have a car at all
But remember brothers and sisters
You can still stand tall
Just be thankful for what you’ve got

– William Devaughn “Be Thankful For What You Got”

Yesterday was the day that many of you have been waiting for since the beginning of the fall season. The day was full of family, fun, football and mostly FOOD! Yams, turkey, stuffing, and greens (oh and Black Friday) have unfortunately overshadowed the true meaning behind the fourth Thursday of November. Ever since that cold winter in the 1600s, back when Plymouth Rock landed on us (that’s another story lol), this holiday was created to designate a day to give thanks to God. I googled to find some quotes on being thankful, and my favorite find is this one:

God gave you a gift of 86,400 seconds today.  Have you used one to say “thank you?”  ~William A. Ward

That quote will definitely kick a few of you all in the gut, myself included. Have you taken the time to tell God thank you today? Just for waking up? Being able to walk, talk, see, and hear normally? For having a home, job, car, etc? It’s ok if you haven’t, you still have about 45,000 more seconds in this day to make it happen! 🙂

So here are my top 10 “I wanna thank ya, God” shout outs for 2010:

1. Kicking cancer’s butt for the 2nd time * and maintaining my flyness throughout the process*

Yes, 2010 brought along many surprises, and being diagnosed in April was quite a doozey! But nevertheless, I made it, and look good while doing it! Who says you have to look “sick”? Not I! Which brings me to my second item… 

 
 
 
 

 

Too cute for cancer...

 

2. WIGS!

A special shoutout to Ree-Ree, Vanessa, Nicki, Jo-Jo, and Brenda. Those special ladies are the names of my hair hats, which gave me that extra boost of confidence I needed once my hair started coming out. One day I could be glamorous, the next day classic! Whoever invented wigs should have gotten a Nobel Peace Prize! Realtalk!

 
 
 
 

 

Jo-Jo...the blondie

 

3. My family!

What can I say? Ain’t nothing like having a Momma that’s always praying for you, a sister that cooks the greatest dinners, a brother-in-law to watch bootleg movies with, a Dad to take you to cool events, and numerous aunts, uncles and cousins lending their encouragement and support! *cue Marvin Sapp’s “Never Would have made it”*

 
 
 
 

 

We're coordinating like a mug!

 

4. The family we chose…my Friends

I really believe that I have some of the greatest friends in the world. My crew is so amazing, and their presence makes life so grand. I see how everyone plays a specific role in my life, and I couldn’t have been blessed with a greater group of people. You are appreciated indeed!

 
 
 
 

 

Me and my ladies!!

 

5. MUSIC!

Oh, what would I do without you, oh sweet sounds?! Life would be such a bore! You are my company when no one is around, my inspiration, my muse! Being able to express myself through song has helped me cope with this process more than many know.

 

6. Health Insurance and short term disability

Seriously, where would I be if I didn’t know you!?!? It is such a blessing to have benefits! After seeing the charges of all my medical expenses versus what I actually pay, I can’t do anything but thank GOD! Also, being able to be off work for 12 weeks with pay allowed me to focus solely on my health. Again, United Healthcare, you’re the best!

7. My sweet, sweet puppygirl

Lily is the best gift I’ve ever received, hands down! Who woulda thought a little Cavachon could bring so much joy! I should have gotten a dog years ago! Even though she can be totally aggressive when it comes to getting rubbed, and isn’t totally house trained (lol), she’s been by my side through it all. I never thought I could love an animal…I was proven wrong!

 
 
 
 

 

Isn't she lovely?

 

8. The Word of God and some bomb Pastors

Pastor Mike, Kenneth and Gloria Copeland, and Joyce Meyer have helped me more than they will ever know. Watching Joyce Meyer is like sitting in a therapy session. And my pastor’s weekly lessons provided me with the knowledge I needed to keep pressing on. The Copeland’s messages on healing and faith reinforced my belief in the power of God’s will for me. I thank God for what they have taught me through His word. It’s all we got!

9. The love of Prose…

I’m a nerd in my heart, and one of my favorite things to do is read and write. There is nothing like reading a line that changes your entire outlook, or writing to express your inner most thoughts. Oprah always says that writing is cathartic, and this blog has proven that point!

and last but certainly not least…

10. Peace of mind…and growth

There’s nothing like being able to remain calm and not get worried in the middle of a storm. I have not mastered this totally, but I am on my way. This past year, I have learned to laugh more and cast my cares, because I certainly cannot solve all my problems and remain sane. I have grown up in more ways than one and I am excited about becoming the woman I always wanted to be.

So that’s just a short list of what I am thankful for…what are some of yours??

 

Psalm 105:1 ESV

Oh give thanks to the Lord; call upon his name; make known his deeds among the peoples!

 

5 thoughts on “I wanna thank you, Heavenly Father…

  1. You’re such a rock star. Great post and great point. So thanks to God for you Shelley for putting your heart on paper er screen and sharing with the rest of us!Thank God for fortifying us before, during and after tribulation so that we might give thanks.

Leave a Reply

