The fairytale is over…

Back to life, back to the present time,
Back from a fantasy yeah
Tell me now, take the initiative
I’ll leave it in your hands until you’re ready
-“Back to Life” Soul II Soul

In the "phonebooth"...is my coworker digging up his nose?! sigh

I am sitting in my tiny 6×6 cubicle, in which I call a phone booth. It’s still hard for me to swallow the pill that I am back at work, after 4 months of not stepping foot in 555 13th St NW. To be honest, I didn’t miss it at all (well I did miss our yummy cafeteria lol). Getting a paycheck every 2 weeks and not having to work one minute was divine! Short term disability is a beautiful thing. But my time is up, and here I sit, wrapped in my fleece work blanket, trying to reminisce on the summer days when I would wake up at 9:30am, chill with my puppygirl, take naps, watch Oprah and do absolutely nothing! I long for those days of freedom!

Good ole summer day...Lily & I watching The Dog Whisperer!

But in actuality, in America, we trade our precious time and skills for that mean green. I see why everyone wants to hit the lotto now. Work can just cramp your style!! LOL! But let’s set the record straight: I am very grateful to have a job with great benefits, which I actually use, and for the most part is pretty low-key. But this summer gave me a glimpse of how I want my future days to be. I want the choice of not being locked in to a 830a-5pm schedule, 5 days a week. I want more time to spend with my family (dog included), friends, and participating in activities that make me happy. I want to be able to go to the 4:30 Pilates class at the gym, or the 12 noon Spin class without having to rush back to work and worry about when to actually eat lunch. I want to be able to kick back and read a book, then fall asleep on the couch for an afternoon nap. That’s what I want, right or wrong.

One of the lessons I learned this summer is how valuable our time is. And what we chose to fill our time reflects our priorities. When the funk hits the fan, you realize that all those hours you put in at work, commuting, and being stressed just ain’t all it’s cracked up to be. Even though I was off work due to less than glamorous reasons, I appreciated and enjoyed every moment, every nap, every outing with my Mom or a friend, every hot walk with Lily the Magic Puppy. I was thankful for just having the ability to do what I wanted with my time on Earth.

So, now that I’m back at work, I have decided to come back with a new focus. This summer’s time off reaffirmed that I was not created for a 9 to 5. A sista yearns for more. So now, as I concoct my plan for world domination (evil laugh), I keep in mind that I need to appreciate the space I am in now, because it won’t last forever. Instead of getting caught up in the mundane routine, I use this summer as fuel to my entrepreneurial fire. We have been given the power to create the kind of life we want to live. Our reality can be even better than our dreams…

So, are you working toward your dream?

If you start thinking to yourselves, “I did all this. And all by myself. I’m rich. It’s all mine!”—well, think again. Remember that God, your God, gave you the strength to produce all this wealth so as to confirm the covenant that he promised to your ancestors—as it is today. (The Message Bible Deut 8:17-18)

12 thoughts on “The fairytale is over…

  1. YES i’m working hard towards my dream and I can sooo relate! Can we PLEASE get Lily the Magic Puppy and Shadow the Smooth Operator out for some fun one day soon! LOL
    Jennifer

  2. U rockers! U are living dream…tee hee make it happen sunshine..im with ya every step of the way!! woo hoo! so excited!!

  3. So so true… and NO!! I’m not working toward my DREAM. Gotta stop making excuses and letting this 9-5 get in the way. I want to stay home and play with the Magic Puppy too! SIGH… Your co-worker is NAAASSSSTTTTYYY! Your eyebrows look GREAT in that pic.

  4. Yes, this particular fairytale may be over but we can certainly conjur up a new one! I so agree with you about this box of confinement we call a job. God purposed us to be more and to do more with our lives and I for one stand in agreement that as His children we owe it to Him and ourselves to strive to fufill that purpose. These four walls (and the cubicles within) must come down….time to spread our wings and rise to our destiny!!

  5. Hey! You know what I always tell you – PIMP THAT JOB!!! Be present to make that money but plan for your dreams during your “down town”!!! All in the course of a day – no free time at work for Ms. Shelley Barnes!!!

  6. Dope Blog!!! The time is now!!! Time to get up our Lo-vells!

    SB – That ole’ booger eating DUB in the background!! Trife DAWG! Dag on camera caught him!

  7. Darling,

    You’re so inspiring. This was absolutely great! And you look great! Those eyebrows are HOT!

    I had an epiphany this morning…if we focus on our seasons we know that that is all it is… a season. Working a 9-5, being in a relationship, or just dreaming. We have the power to identify the season, maximize it and move on.

    So lets get it! Love you doll…and we should start the Entreprenuers Club, Inc.

    *Msg: The content of this blog is confidential. ANYone who attempts to steal this idea will be bannned from FRIENDSHIPS Inc…lol!

  8. Hey Shelley B 🙂 I have just finished reading all of your posts tonight from the very beginning starting with May. You are an amazing woman and I am so proud of you. As it has been said before, you are truly inspiring and have set a fire in me to do some things and to think about some things differently! Thank you for your honesty on this journey. Love to see you soon! Smooches!

Leave a Reply

