Dear God, please make me a bird…

“I wish that I could fly, Into the sky, So very high, Just like a dragonfly
I’d fly above the trees, Over the seas in all degrees, To anywhere I please
Oh I want to get away, I want to fly away” -Lenny Kravitz “I Want to Get Away”
 

Basking in the ray of light

Sometimes you just have to jump in the car, and get the heck out of dodge! That’s what I did last Monday. A short trip over the Bay Bridge, and within 2.5 hours, we were basking in the sunshine and blue skies of Ocean City. Of course my inner bougie alter ego would have preferred to be frolicking on the sandy beaches of Miami, but the good ole O.C. did me just right! I made a conscious effort to leave it all behind. I had to ignore the fact that my CBC white blood counts were possibly lower than average, I had a runny nose and cough, or that round 3 of chemo was 2 days later…who CARES!?! It’s beach time! 

For those 2 days, I did what I do best…frolick, dress, and REST! Oh, and ate very well. It felt great to enjoy the simple things in life. We laid on the beach for hours, talked, took a nap, ate at the BEST buffet EVER (shoutout to Embers), slept in, played miniature golf, shopped! A girl couldn’t have asked for anything more. 

Tiger can't see me!!!

It’s important to find the simple pleasures in life; you don’t always have to do things extra big. A quick getaway to Ocean City rejuvenated my mind and spirit, but you can do that in your own town. Go to a museum, your local pool, a new restaurant, jump on the Bolt Bus for $18 and hit up NYC for the day. Take an epsom salt bath, next time it rains, just sit outside and get soaked. Just do something different, outside of your normal activities. You never know how you can be inspired or refueled. 

So, what’s your next great escape?

3 thoughts on “Dear God, please make me a bird…

  1. I really liked this post 🙂
    A few weeks ago I got caught in the rain and my first instinct was to run for cover but instead I just stood there, before long my arms where up in the air and I was twirling all around. I was dancing in the rain- Oddly enough it felt great and you’re right about taking in the simple pleasures of life!
    It was such a refreshing experience not to mention “free”. Great post Shells!

  2. Love it!!! My escape has been driving down to RIC and visit my parent’s new pool. I can float all day long just looking up at the sky. Fun times indeed!

Leave a Reply

